Happy St. Patrick’s Day

logo for happy saint patricks day

A toast from me to you -- Happy St. Patrick's Day!!


Beware the leprechauns!!

Time is flying by on Spring Break. Either too much stuff to do, or perhaps too little, since I’m not really doing any homework. But, nonetheless, It’s time to bring on the blarney charm and write something cool about St. Patricks Day.

man from Pierre dressed in green outfit for st pats day

A very festive Pierre resident bringing on the St. Paddy's Day spirit at Bob's Lounge in Pierre, S.D. This gentlemen dyes his beard each year for this occasion.

It’s always been one of my favorite holidays, you know dressing up in green, pinching people and consuming mass volumes of green beer. I think one the coolest moms on Earth put it so succinctly one year during a session of the South Dakota Senate. I can’t remember what she said verbatim, but state Sen. Nancy Turbak Berry, D-Watertown, told members of the senate “Happy St. Patrick’s Day,” and if she could pass along a tradition to the state legislature, St. Patrick’s Day would be a day to take off from work. Her kids, Seamus and Liam Culhane, were allowed to play hookey on St. Patrick’s Day, since birth — my sentiments precisely. As of right now, my brain has now checked “out” and is now off-duty. (OK, lemme finish my blog first. BTW, I post every WEDNESDAY, so come back here.)

portrait of South Dakota senator nancy turbak berry

South Dakota state Sen. Nancy Turbak Berry, D-Watertown

Adria Johnson serves green beer

Adria Johnson brings heavy pitchers of green beer to her bar patrons at the bar formerly known as Mitch's GrandStan in Pierre, S.D., March 17, 2007.

Let me digress now on the past three St. Paddy’s Day memoirs. Hmm. In 2009, I was traveling thru the small town of Pierre, S.D. It was only a year earlier the honorable senator made her remark about her family tradition. I was still living in Pierre, a political reporter at the Capital Journal, back then, but last year I believe I was heading back west to New Mexico, after working a few odd jobs in New York, and Michigan. Pierre has a lovely tradition of having a parade and bringing the whole town together to celebrate…. it was the first time I saw Pierre’s new mayor, Laurie Gill, waving to the crowd on the city float. It was chilly that day. Me and this little rascal; a kid of about 10 years old standing next to me, started being very competitive about gathering the candy being thrown around us. We bumped heads, literally, several times diving for Lemonheads and Everlasting Gobstoppers. The final laugh for the little squirt was me chomping down on a very piece of hard candy. A premolar that was losing life slowly all of sudden succombed to the candy and broke; nearly in half. OMG! Pain could not be measured on a scale of 1 to 10. Perhaps, 25, or 40 would be where I was on that 10 scale.

Dan Myers and Adam wearing goggles

Adam sporting fashionable St. Patty's Day mega glasses and Dan Myers at the Silver Spur Saloon in Fort Pierre. This bar is only opened one day a year to keep it's liquor license (valued over $100,000) alive.

Luckily, that’s where green beer comes in. And, Irish Car Bombs. Oh those people in Pierre. I think this was the third year I celebrated St. Patrick’s Day in Pierre. So to you my fellow Pierrites (or Pierronians, or whatever), I raise my Molson Ice (dyed green with food coloring just a second ago), to Dean Peterson, Dan Myers, Jen Neely, Jen “who throws bugs at Crystal L.” Cannes, Laz Szomor, Christopher “Shakespeare” Webb, Sheila and Gina, Jeff Bunn, Kent Anderson, and the rest of you mofos out there that I failed to mention — the best to all of you. What is St. Paddy’s Day without you? Geez. How depressing.

Laz, Dean and Chris

We can probably call these hooligans the Rat Pack of Pierre. From left, Laz Szomor, Dean Peterson and Chris Webb.

Let’s not forget about the mystical Irish creature who guards the pot of gold on this day. They are alive and well in Pierre… near the waters of the Missouri River, in and around La Framboise Island. I’ve heard the call of the leprechaun. Dean and I sent Chris Webb on his merry way to locate the bizarre creatures… he instead lassoed in a girl from the ruff. Oops, you know who you are… hehah. Just seeing if you’re reading my blog. Be thankful, I didn’t mention names here. Because, it was an amusing night. Anyway, they hang out in the dark shadows guarding their beloved treasure. They’re troll-like things — LEPRECHAUNS… scarey!

Bob's Lounge in Pierre

A look at Bob's Lounge on March 17, 2007, in Pierre, S.D. If you look closely at the sidewalk in front of the bar, you'll see a freshly painted shamrock. Cheers!

Well, enough of my musings of St. Patricks Day. My agenda for this afternoon is to see the holiday parade downtown Cleveland. It won’t be the same as Pierre, but it’ll have to suffice for now. Oh yeah, cheers to Bob’s Lounge in Pierre, as they repaint the green Shamrock on the sidewalk out front — a once a year festivity.

Bronson Peshlakai on St. Pats day 2007

Bronson Peshlakai, your's truly, wearing no flair for the St. Patrick's Day holiday in Pierre, S.D., 2007. I'm ready this year baby.

I’ve got my Kelly Green Polo shirt ready, as well as some Paddy’s Day trinkets that blink and stuff. Stopping for a bit of holiday merriment after the parade is almost a certainty. I was planning to celebrate this day in New York City, but other plans have creeped up last minute. This evening, I’ll mosey my way to Little Italy (Cleveland, not New York) to the Holy Rosary Cathedral to begin rehearsals for Easter services coming up in a few weeks. Let’s hope I don’t get caught up seeking an imaginery pot of gold by means of metabolizing ethanol molecules tinged with green dye.

Have a happy and safe St. Patrick’s Day!!!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bpeshlakai.wordpress.com/2010/03/17/happy-st-patricks-day/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Spring Break!! Puh-leezeee Your not a 22 year old college kid bro!!!!!


Leave a Reply

